World Travel GuidesSri Lanka's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

 Find Hotels     Follow Me on Pinterest 

Sri Lanka ratified the World Heritage Convention on 6 JUne, 1980. As of May 2010, it has 7 World Heritage Sites of which six are in the cultural category and one in the natural category. Sri Lanka also has another 3 sites on the World Heritage Tentative List.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Sri Lanka

  1. Ancient City of Polonnaruwa
  2. Ancient City of Sigiriya
  3. Sacred City of Anuradhapura
  4. Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications
  5. Sacred City of Kandy
  6. Sinharaja Forest Reserve
  7. Golden Temple of Dambulla

Sites in Sri Lanka on the World Heritage Tentative List

  1. Peak Wilderness Sanctuary (PWS), Horton Plains National Park (HPNP), Knuckles Range (KR) (2006)
  2. Seruwila Mangala Raja Maha Vihara (2006)
  3. Seruwila to Sri Pada (Sacred Foot Print Shrine), Ancient pilgrim route along the Mahaweli river in Sri Lanka (2010)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Point - Click - Discover!

Thanks for visiting this webpage. To continue exploring, choose another destination!

My World Travel Guides - celebrating a beautiful world beautifully.

Travel Business