World Travel GuidesSouth Korea's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

 Find Hotels     Follow Me on Pinterest 

South Korea ratified the World Heritage Convention on 14 September, 1988. As of June 2010, it has nine World Heritage Sites, of which eight are in the cultural category and one in the natural category. South Korea also has another 12 sites on the World Heritage Tentative List.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in South Korea

  1. Haeinsa Temple Janggyeong Panjeon, the Depositories for the Tripitaka Koreana Woodblocks
  2. Jongmyo Shrine
  3. Seokguram Grotto and Bulguksa Temple
  4. Changdeokgung Palace Complex
  5. Hwaseong Fortress
  6. Gochang, Hwasun and Ganghwa Dolmen Sites
  7. Gyeongju Historic Areas
  8. Jeju Volcanic Island and Lava Tubes
  9. Royal Tombs of the Joseon Dynasty

Sites in South Korea on the World Heritage Tentative List

  1. Kangjingun Kiln Sites (1994)
  2. Mt. Soraksan Nature Reserve (1994)
  3. Hahoe Folk Village in Andong (1998)
  4. Yangdong Village of Wolseong (2002)
  5. Sites of fossilized dinosaurs throughout the Southern seacoast (2002)
  6. Southwestern Coast Tidal Flats (2010)
  7. Namhansanseong - Ancient Fortified Military and Cultural Landscape of Mt. Namhansan (2010)
  8. Salterns (2010)
  9. Daegokcheon Stream Petroglyphs (2010)
  10. Ancient Mountain Fortresses in Central Korea (2010)
  11. Gongju and Buyeo Historic Sites (2010)
  12. Iksan Historic Areas (2010)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Point - Click - Discover!

Thanks for visiting this webpage. To continue exploring, choose another destination!

My World Travel Guides - celebrating a beautiful world beautifully.

Travel Business