World Travel GuidesHungary's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

 Find Hotels     Follow Me on Pinterest 

Hungary ratified the World Heritage Convention on 15 July, 1985. As of May 2010, it has 8 World Heritage Sites, of which all are cultural sites except for one. Hungary also has another 11 sites on the World Heritage Tentative List.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Hungary

  1. Budapest, including the Banks of the Danube, the Buda Castle Quarter and Andrássy Avenue
  2. Old Village of Hollóko and its Surroundings
  3. Caves of Aggtelek Karst and Slovak Karst
  4. Millenary Benedictine Abbey of Pannonhalma and its Natural Environment
  5. Hortobágy National Park - the Puszta
  6. Early Christian Necropolis of Pécs (Sopianae)
  7. Fertö / Neusiedlersee Cultural Landscape
  8. Tokaj Wine Region Historic Cultural Landscape

Sites in Hungary on the World Heritage Tentative List

  1. Le Château-fort médiéval d'Esztergom (1993)
  2. The Tihany Peninsula (1993)
  3. Caves of the Buda Thermal Karst System (1993)
  4. Mediaeval Royal Seat and Parkland at Visegrád (2000)
  5. System of Fortifications at the Confluence of the Rivers Danube and Váh in Komárno - Komárom (2007)
  6. The Network of Rural Heritage Buildings in Hungary (2000)
  7. State Stud-Farm Estate of Mezöhegyes (2000)
  8. The Wooden Churches of the Northern Part of the Carpathian Basin (2000)
  9. The Ipolytartnóc Fossils (2000)
  10. Ödön Lechner’s independent pre-modern architecture (2008)
  11. Frontiers of the Roman Empire – Ripa Pannonica in Hungary (2009)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Point - Click - Discover!

Thanks for visiting this webpage. To continue exploring, choose another destination!

My World Travel Guides - celebrating a beautiful world beautifully.

Travel Business