World Travel GuidesGreece's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

 Find Hotels     Follow Me on Pinterest 

Greece ratified the World Heritage Convention on 17 July, 1981. As of May 2010, there are 17 sites in Greece inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Greece has also submitted a further eight sites presently on the Tentative List. In addition to that, I have documented two fantastic islands in Greece, with more on the way.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Greece

  1. Temple of Apollo Epicurius at Bassae
  2. Acropolis, Athens
  3. Archaeological Site of Delphi
  4. Medieval City of Rhodes
  5. Meteora
  6. Mount Athos
  7. Paleochristian and Byzantine Monuments of Thessalonika
  8. Sanctuary of Asklepios at Epidaurus
  9. Archaeological Site of Mystras
  10. Archaeological Site of Olympia
  11. Delos
  12. Monasteries of Daphni, Hosios Loukas and Nea Moni of Chios
  13. Pythagoreion and Heraion of Samos
  14. Archaeological Site of Aigai (modern name Vergina)
  15. Archaeological Sites of Mycenae and Tiryns
  16. Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John "the Theologian" and the Cave of the Apocalypse on the Island of Pátmos
  17. Old Town of Corfu
  1. The Palace of Knossos (2003)
  2. Archaeological Site of Nikopolis (2003)
  3. Archaeological site of Philippi (2003)
  4. Lavrio (Ancient Laurion) (2003)
  5. The broader region of Mount Olympus (2003)
  6. The Area of the Prespes Lakes: Megali and Mikri Prespa which includes Byzantine and post-Byzantine monuments (2003)
  7. National Park of Dadia - Lefkimi - Souflion (2003)
  8. Gorge of Samaria National Park (2003)

Fantastic Islands in Greece

  1. Santorini
  2. Zakynthos

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Point - Click - Discover!

Thanks for visiting this webpage. To continue exploring, choose another destination!

My World Travel Guides - celebrating a beautiful world beautifully.

Travel Business