World Travel GuidesBulgaria's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

 Find Hotels     Follow Me on Pinterest 

Bulgaria ratified the World Heritage Convention on 7 March, 1974. As of March 2010, it has seven Cultural World Heritage Sites and two Natural World Heritage Sites. Bulgaria also has fourteen properties presently listed to the World Heritage Tentative List.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Bulgaria

  1. Boyana Church (1979)
  2. Madara Rider (1979)
  3. Rock-Hewn Churches of Ivanovo (1979)
  4. Thracian Tomb of Kazanlak (1979(
  5. Ancient City of Nessebar (1983)
  6. Rila Monastery (1983)
  7. Thracian Tomb of Sveshtari (1985)

  8. Pirin National Park (1983)
  9. Srebarna Nature Reserve (1983)
Sites in Bulgaria on the World Heritage Tentative List:
  1. Two neolithic dwellings with their interior and household furnishings and utensils completely preserved (1984)
  2. The Magoura cave with drawings from the bronze age (1984)
  3. The ancient town of Nicopolis ad Istrum (1984)
  4. The late ancient tomb of Silistra (1984)
  5. The Bachkovo Monastery (1984)
  6. The town of Melnik and the Rozhen Monastery (1984)
  7. The Rocks of Belogradchik (1984)
  8. The Vratsa Karst (1984)
  9. Central Balkan Park (1984)
  10. The Roussensky Lom National Park (1984)
  11. The Pobiti Kamani Natural Monument (1984)
  12. The Ancient Plovdiv (2004)
  13. Thracian Tomb with Wall Paintings beside Alexandrovo village (2004)
  14. Pirin National Park World Heritage Site (2006)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Point - Click - Discover!

Thanks for visiting this webpage. To continue exploring, choose another destination!

My World Travel Guides - celebrating a beautiful world beautifully.

Travel Business