World Travel GuidesAustralia's UNESCO World Heritage Sites

 Find Hotels     Follow Me on Pinterest 

Australia ratified the World Heritage Convention on 22 August, 1974. As of March 2010, it has two Cultural World Heritage Sites, eleven Natural World Heritage Sites, and four Mixed World Heritage Site. Australia has another three sites presently on the World Heritage Tentative List.

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Australia

  1. Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens, Victoria (2004)
  2. Sydney Opera House, New South Wales (2007)

  3. Great Barrier Reef, Queensland (1981)
  4. Lord Howe Island Group, New South Wales (1982)
  5. Gondwana Rainforests of Australia, Queensland (1986)
  6. Wet Tropics of Queensland (1988)
  7. Shark Bay, Western Australia (1991)
  8. Fraser Island, Queensland (1992)
  9. Australian Fossil Mammal Sites (Riversleigh / Naracoorte), South Australia (1994)
  10. Heard and McDonald Islands, Australia's Indian Ocean Territories (1997)
  11. Macquarie Island, Tasmania (1997)
  12. Greater Blue Mountains Area, New South Wales (2000)
  13. Purnululu National Park, Western Australia (2003)

  14. Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory (1981)
  15. Willandra Lakes Region, New South Wales (1981)
  16. Tasmanian Wilderness, Tasmania (1982)
  17. Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Northern Territory (1987)
The following are sites in Australia on the World Heritage Tentative List:
  1. Australian Convict Sites (2000)
  2. Ningaloo Coast (2008)
  3. Great Sandy World Heritage Area (2010)

Scenic Landscapes in Australia

  1. The Twelve Apostles

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Point - Click - Discover!

Thanks for visiting this webpage. To continue exploring, choose another destination!

My World Travel Guides - celebrating a beautiful world beautifully.

Travel Business